I AM. (or I AM. – SM Town Live World Tour in Madison Square Garden) is a biographical film on 32 SM Town K-pop artists on their journey to become the first Asian singers to stage their milestone SMTown Live ’10 World Tour concert at Madison Square Garden in New York.The film was originally schedule for release in South Korea on 10 May 2012, but was postponed to 21 June 2012, due to audio issues.


Starring 32 artists from SM Town. The movie reflect the past, present and future of each artist with behind-the-scenes footage that follows the stars as they undergo rehearsals, revealing their day-to-day lives and also features interview, video diaries and never-seen-before archive files.



On April 24, 2012 SM Town released the film’s theme song “Dear My Family“, along with its music video. It is a remake of the song of the same name from Yoo Young-jin’s 2001 third album and 2002 Winter Vacation in SMTown.com – My Angel My Light performed by Kangta, Moon Hee-joon, S.E.S., Shinhwa, Fly to the Sky and BoA.

The 2012 version is performed by BoA, Kangta, TVXQ, Yesung of Super Junior, Taeyeon of Girls’ Generation, Jonghyun of Shinee, Luna of f(x) and Baekhyun, D.O, Luhan & Chen of EXO.


On April 30, 2012 the cast attended a showcase for the movie, held at the CJ CGV cinema in Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul.It was also streamed live in in Korean, English, Japanese and Chinese; as well as to both online and mobile web platforms.


  • KangTa
  • TVXQ
  • Super Junior (except Leeteuk and Siwon)
  • Girls’ Generation (except Yuri and Yoona)
  • SHINee
  • f(x) (except Victoria)

International releases

  • United States: July 13-19, 2012 at CGV CINEMAS in LA
  • Indonesia: May 18-20, 2012 at the Blitz Megaplex theater in Jakarta.
  • Hong Kong: May 18-30, 2012
  • Singapore: May 25, 2012
  • Taiwan: May 25, 2012
  • Japan: June 2, 2012
  • Thailand: July 7-8, 2012 (Only in Paragon Cineplex at Siam Paragon, Bangkok)
  • Vietnam: June 22, 2012

DVD releases

  • Japan: October 3, 2012
  • United States: November 6, 2012
  • Taiwan: October 19, 2012
  • Hong Kong: September 25, 2012
  • Korea: September 27, 2012
  • Thailand: December 6, 2012